I think I Can

Sunday. Sunday is the day I’ve spent more than 12 weeks training for, anticipating and dreading . . . the Rt 66 Half Marathon in Tulsa.

I have to be honest, the injury in September shook me more than I wanted to admit to anyone. I was so sure of myself prior to it. I realize I was a little arrogant. Surely I couldn’t get hurt. Then I did. Not only was I off for three weeks, it was another three grueling weeks just easing back into running.

Before the stress fracture, running had become easy and familiar. My steps were light; I’d finally reached a good pace. I had my routine and my routes. I was sassy ya’ll. After recovering from the fracture and the boot, I found myself timid, regressed, not confident. Here I am just days from the race, and I know my foot is 110% healed. I am in great shape. My body can do this, but can my mind?

I’ve heard it said, and now I know it’s true that 80% of running and particularly racing is a head game. You’re competing against yourself. My inner dialogue is ridiculous. “I can do this. . . No, I can’t. Yes, I can!” And back and forth it goes. I know that there are so many factors that will make Sunday ideal – good weather, tons of other runners, adrenaline . . . I think I can, I think I can, I think I can . . .

13.1 or bust!

4 thoughts on “I think I Can

  1. Well . . . you may “think” you can but I KNOW you can. You can do anything you put your mind to. Trust me, I know–I’ve seen it! This is very exciting and I can’t wait to hear all about it after Sunday! 😉

  2. Oh friend, this marathon has got nothing on the one you’ve been running the last few years. You are physically, spiritually and mentally ready for this. I really wish I could be there to cheer you on as I’ve done and continue to do in life. Love you!

Leave a Reply

