Stupid is as Stupid Runs

Let me set the scene for you.  I twas a cold dark night . . . no, scratch that. It was a mildly warm and rainy night. I had just returned from my daily Chuck Norris Associate class, known to everyone else as “running on the treadmill at the YMCA.” Yes, that’s right friends, I lead a double life. You just thought I was training for a half-marathon when really I have been honing my round-house kicks and all-over awesomeness.  Anyway, I returned home this weekend from my Chuck Norris instruction to be met by none other than my arch nemesis herself, Krystal (With a K). Krystal is not only my enemy but the bane of my existence. Also, she has a large derriere which I admit I am a little envious of. Krystal with a K was feeling particularly snarky that evening and challenged me to a fight. While I knew it was unwise to take her on without my friends present, Syndi, Kris, Twenty-two and my sisters, they’re all in Chuck Norris training too, I could not resist the opportunity to best her.

So we fought. I kicked her expansive booty to the curb, but little did I know that Krystal with a K had buns of steel. And that, my friends, is how I fractured my foot.

Okay, so none of that is true, but I wish it were.  The real story is even dumber than the ridiculousness above.  In short, I was arrogant, wouldn’t listen to those who mentioned that I might be pushing it a bit. I was having fun and not listening to my body’s cues. I overdid it. Plain and simple. I knew I was doing too much too fast, and I was unwilling to stop the crazy train. Now, I get to wear this beautiful boot for two weeks (possibly more) and I am not allowed to do a dang thing except get well.

I’m frustrated. I cried some today (or some might say blubbered like a baby).  Wisdom to take away: slow and steady really does win the race. Pushing it to do too many miles before you’re ready is silly, even if the weather is great and you feel like superwoman. You’re not. And if you try to be you will pay a lot of money to wear an ugly, bulky accessory. Fun times.

Praying for speedy healing so I can get back to training . . . in the meantime I aim to be less whiny.

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

