“There shall be eternal summer in the grateful heart.” ~Celia Thaxter

I’m in one of those moods where I could complain about anything. Yes, I am having a rare Debbie Downer moment. I blame the heat. It’s had my kids and I cooped up all weekend, my house looking like it’s been ransacked and me antsy and grumpy because I WANT to be outdoors, and it’s completely unsafe to be outdoors right now. Oklahoma summer finally arrived, and wow is it packing a punch!

I just wrote a post about the dog days being over, and here I am again smack dab in the middle of them. Grumpy, exhausted, lie-under-the-porch and hide days. It’s not working for me, and we’ve got at least another month of this misery. What’s a girl to do?  Start speaking that language of gratitude.

So I have decided to compile a list of Summer Gifts, please feel free to comment and add your own. Before we know it, the heat will be gone and the lazy days of summer will be behind us. We’ll be facing another school year, holidays and craziness . . . saying, “I can’t wait for summer!”

1. Smell of Banana Boat sunscreen and Pure Tropics sunbathing oil (which I admit to using as a teenager!)

2. The delicious feeling of drying out on a towel in the shade

3. Ocean waves in the morning – I remember this from birthdays spent at Padre Island as a kid

4. Afternoon naps, being lulled to sleep by the whirring of the ceiling fan and the clicking of cicadas

5. Tan skin

6. Snow-cones, ice cream and popsicles

7. The lovely tired after a day of swimming

8. Summer songs on the radio “I Wanna Soak up the Sun” . . .

9. Lawn chairs and iced tea on warm nights

10. Shorts and sunglasses

11. Watermelon

12. Pedicures

13. Cool, dark movie theaters

14. A hammock, some shade and a good book

15. Road trips

And for your entertainment, some fun summer quotes:

“Summer bachelors like summer breezes, are never as cool as they pretend to be.” ― Nora Ephron

“Some of the best memories are made in flip flops.” ― Kellie Elmore

“Summer afternoon—summer afternoon; to me those have always been the two most beautiful words in the English language.” ― Henry James

“What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness.” ― John SteinbeckTravels with Charley: In Search of America

“Deep summer is when laziness finds respectability.”  ~Sam Keen

Leave a Reply

