Joy for June

May was not my finest month. Along with the lovely was a swathing of ugly – hurt, repentance, disappointment, grief, joy and anger. It felt a little like what I call emotional whiplash. This was also the month I had decided to get most serious with the Joy Dare (courtesy of Ann Voskamp, author of 1000 Gifts).  Coincidence? Probably not. I have found time and again that the times where finding joy requires the most struggle is also when God likes to show off. Jeremiah 29:13 You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.

I could sit here and pound out a laundry list of why May was so utterly discouraging, and it was. Oh friends, it was. But no, I don’t think you need the details of my woe – instead, I want to share with you the joys, the gifts, the hundreds of blessings I saw by pressing into His side. He’s so good, even when life is not.

#383 – My son exploring the shore of the lake with my dad for hours.

#385 – A loud silence

#392 – Showing my children the old wrought-iron bridge my dad welded as a teenager that I played on as a kid.

#394 – Night sky in the country with so many brilliantly bright stars it took my breath away

#397 – Long nighttime drives on country roads – perfect time for long hard, tearful conversations with God

#287 – Being woken up in the middle of the night to pray

#297 – Hindsight

#309 A sacrifice of praise

#400 The promise that He will never leave me or forsake me (and He NEVER has!) Hebrews 13:5

#345 New running shoes – oh the places we’ll go!

#401 Breaking of personal bests and onward to new goals

#402 A new month, a new day, a new adventure

I feel like I am on the cusp of something wonderful with the Lord here, friends. I have a sort of giddy excitement that I recall feeling after conquering an incline and sprinting down  a hill.

Freedom.

Leave a Reply

