Lace up – Let’s Go

I might have said this before, but I always said I would never be one of “those running people.” Er, I might have also used the words “Crazy, Nuts . . .”  Yet here I am. I ran 8 miles this week. 8 miles.  I can hardly believe I just typed that.

In February I began Couch 2 5K. I started on the treadmill, and it was SLOW going in the beginning. Often times, it hurt. I was committed to it, so I went and did my “time” three times a week. I admit that in the beginning, I was not a fan of running at all. In fact, I was ready to break up with running several times. Running made me red-faced, it hurt, I was pretty sure I ran like a dork. Even so, I persevered. And before I knew it, I ran for 5 minutes straight one day. Then I hit the streets and sort of had to start over, but when I get it in my head to conquer something – watch out!

And then with an awesome friend by my side I completed a 5k under my goal time in April. It was then that I decided that running and I would go steady after all.

Today I stepped on the scale and saw that I am only two (TWO!) pounds away from completing a goal that six months ago sounded impossible. Losing 50 pounds. I cannot help but get a little emotional because it’s so amazing to me that I am here. It makes me realize what a gift each day is and that I do not want to waste any more of them. It makes me see that these fragile bodies are just that – fragile, and it does honor Him and glorify Him when we take care of them.

And running . . . it’s one foot in front of the other moving towards a goal. I love how God uses running metaphors throughout the Bible:

Hebrews 12:1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us,2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.3 Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

Do not grow weary and lose heart . . . when life seems to be falling down around your ears, when healing doesn’t come when you thought it would, when relationships don’t work quite right, when God seems to be distant, when money is short and needs are plenty, when you’re physically done, when the scale won’t budge, when your courage falters –  Fix your eyes on Jesus, the AUTHOR and PERFECTER of faith. Keep going. 

If I’ve said it once, I’ll say it a thousand more times, if I can do this, anyone can. I was the most unmotivated, the most discouraged, with the most baggage and too many obstacles to name. But God is bigger.

Luke 18:27 But He said, “The things that are impossible with people are possible with God

 1 Corinthians 9:24 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.25 Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.26 Therefore I do not run like someone running aimlessly; I do not fight like a boxer beating the air.

I just felt that some of you, one of you out there needed to hear this today. We’re all running this race together; let’s do it well.

6 thoughts on “Lace up – Let’s Go

Leave a Reply

