Losing It

Things I said I would never do:

1. Run for fun

2. Eat organically

3. Get up each day at 5am, on purpose

Lesson learned? Never say never. Although in my case, crow tastes pretty good, even without the refined sugar. 😉

I realized that I have yet to really share on my blog about my journey to fitness and weight loss.  It all started after Christmas. I was the heaviest I have ever been. Tired, plagued with stomach issues, stressed and sick. I could not look in the mirror without wincing and thinking, “Who is THAT?”  And through what I would call the perfect storm of God’s revelation to me about the state of things, scripture, encouragement from friends and being sick as a dog – I snapped. In a good way.

Because as you might know (just look back at this blog over the years) I have struggled with weight issues for some time and have had NO success. I tried fad diets and books, quick-fixes and spurts of inconsistent exercised routines, all of which I would grow tired of and discouraged when I saw no results. The truth is that I never cared enough to change it ALL.

So in late December I made a huge and what some have called, a crazy, lifestyle change. No more refined sugar, cut the salt, no more processed foods, period. No more easy outs. Water, water, water. No more coffee (this one was very sad, but totally necessary.) And my body resisted, as did my children. And with a little time, love and tenderness, things began to change and we began to realize that real food is pretty amazing.

As for the exercise – baby steps. I decided that I was tired of exercising out of obligation. I wanted to do something fun. I love to dance. I mean LOVE. So I got out the Wii given to us for Christmas and began playing Just Dance II everyday, which led to buying Zumba for the Wii, which led to joining to YMCA and going to real Zumba classes, and then through the encouragement of a certain someone I began the Couch 2 5K program and 5 weeks later I am well on my way to running my first 5K.

And 32 pounds (and counting!) and 2 dress sizes down.

Is God good or is He GOOD?! He’s good ya’ll!

I never in my wildest dreams imagined a day when I would not struggle with making healthy food choices. It never crossed my mind that a day would come when I would be able to complete 5K in under an hour. It never occurred to me that  healthy and fit were possible, that energy would be normal, that I would be able to keep up with my 7, 3 & 1-year-old kids.

Never say never.

To ALL of you amazing people who have encouraged me, THANK YOU. I’m not done yet, and I am so thankful to have you all cheering me on every step of the way. To you, dear readers, who are struggling to get started or are discouraged – keep going. Or as Dory would say to Marlin in Finding Nemo, “Just keep swimming!”  It is hard, it hurts, you may get called crazy, but it’s all worth it. Make it count.

In case you are interested, here are some helpful links:

Gracious Pantry

Couch 2 5K

Zumba

And for a little (or more like A LOT) of inspiration, check out Mandisa’s journey to losing more than 100 lbs!

2 thoughts on “Losing It

Leave a Reply

