Let’s Catch up!

Oh what a week – WHAT a week!  After looking over my most recent posts, I feel that it is high time for a little lighter fare. Wouldn’t you agree?

Despite all the seriousness around these here parts, la loca vida still marches on.

Case in point:

We finished phase one of potty training with Lyla.  Ahem, I finished phase one of potty training with Lyla. And now we move to phase two, which includes instances of Lyla having to pee while in the checkout line at Target, Lyla having to pee while driving somewhere and generally Lyla having to pee at any moment that is completely inconvenient. My new most used phrase: HOLD IT!

As you may know, I started a complete lifestyle change in late December in order to achieve overall wellness. It’s been a really cool journey thus far, not only because I have lost a good deal of weight and I feel amazingly better, but I have also incorporated more time with the Lord in the morning (as in first thing) . . . wellness really is something you cannot compartmentalize. To really be well, it must be the soul, mind and body. (I believe I’ll have some posts on this later!)

In conjunction with my new wellness function (ha ha) I have also become a total Zumba freak (er…addict?) All my Zumba gals, holla!  It’s crazy fun and a sick workout. I mean drenched. I started at home on the Wii and then began attending classes at the local YMCA. If you are a serious life-long dance junkie like I am, Zumba is a good way to work that out!

I’m finishing up One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp (more on that later) and next on the list is 7 by Jen Hatmaker.  Expect to hear about this one from me. “7 is an experimental mutiny against excess . . . (a) true story of how Jen took seven months, identified seven areas of excess, and made seven simple choices to fight back against the modern-day diseases of greed, materialism, and overindulgence.”  Stop wincing.

Okay so . . . April 7th – I will run, yes RUN, my first 5K. I started C25K last week. Partly I want to run because it’s something I said I would never do, and I hate when I say things like that. Partly, it’s for fitness. Mostly, it’s something I want to accomplish. A good friend of mine is helping me to train and will be running with (and hopefully not laughing at) me. Prayers, please.

Jonah has started reading on his own, by himself. It freaks me out. I just don’t know what to make of this big kid sitting on the couch quietly reading a book. Where did my baby go?!  Doesn’t he want me to read it TO him? Oh no, he says, “That’s okay, Mommy. I can read it.”  Excuse me while I go weep in a corner. This growing up junk is hard.

Then there’s Jules and Lyla. Oy. The squabbling. I know my mother laughs so hard her ribs hurt when I complain about their constant fighting. Peeps without kids, beware. Remember that curse your mother put on you . . . you know what I’m talking about, the “I hope one day that you have kids that act just like you!”?? Yeah, it’s come to pass in my house. All those years of exchanging blows, hair pulling, tattling and screaming with/at my sisters? It’s staring me in the face. To which my mother replies, “I just don’t know what to tell you babe!”

Happy weekend friends!  Thanks as always for reading my little piece of internet. XOXO

Leave a Reply

