Movie Review: Courageous

Fatherless. According to numerous studies and polls from various sources, findings show that 40-50% of children in the United States either live apart from their fathers or will live apart from their fathers before the age of 18. The statistics describing the myriad of troubling issues associated with living apart from a dad are enough to make you want to cry and start praying, hard. And as a single mom, I’ve done (and still do) both.

Which brings me to the movie I rented tonight. I’ve heard about Courageous for many, many months; I have watched the other films by the Kendricks and Sherwood Baptist and loved them. I don’t need Oscar quality acting . . . but I am drawn to a beautiful message, and it doesn’t get any better than the message of God’s Word.

Even still, I admit that I have drug my feet on this one.  Why? I didn’t want to sit through a movie telling me how doomed by kids are by living in a home without a dad present. I should have known better than to judge a movie by its cover. 😉

Courageous is not just a movie about fathers or fatherlessness. It’s a movie about the beautiful love of Christ and its power to transform. It’s about the heart of God THE FATHER and His will for earthly fathers. It’s a plea to not, “Fall asleep at the wheel” and for men all over to mentor and support children living in a home without dad. It’s not hopeless, far from it.

Statistics may be what they are, but I entrusted my children to God a long time ago. For He knows the plans He has for their lives . . . plans to give them a hope and a future. (Jer 29:11)

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? . . .  No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,t neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:35-39)

This movie made me hit my knees in prayer for my kids, for their dad and for the wonderful church family, family and godly mentors the Lord has placed in my kids’ lives.

A word to the wise: a whole box of Kleenex is advisable. I didn’t just tear up a time or two. On no, I had the ugly cry. Bless you Lord that I watched this alone. No one should have to see me in this state!

 

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: Courageous

  1. Susan, thanks for the comments! I think entrusting these kids to the Lord is a huge thing for us solo mamas – good job and God Bless!

  2. This was an amazing movie and I do believe a very important message to everyone. I rented it and then bought it a week later. It’s well worth the money.

    I will watch this, share this and tell everyone I know about this movie.

    Yes I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this movie on all levels.

    I look forward to the next Sherwood production.

  3. Me too! They’ve come a long way since Facing the Giants (which was also awesome in my opinion!) I think it’s just amazing what they are doing; it’s so cool to hear the reports back of people actually having made professions of faith in the theater!

    Thanks for the comment friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

