Hear and Do

Have you ever walked into a room, determined to complete some important task (you know, uh, like tweeting about what you had for breakfast ;)) and the minute you step into the room, your memory suddenly evaporates? Better still, have you ever looked into the mirror and walked away only to realize that you’ve already forgotten what you look like today?

James 1:22-24  says “Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.23 Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in a mirror24 and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.

Word up.

I’ve been so, so very guilty of this. Merely listening, just tasting but not chewing. Not allowing it to go down to the inward parts and transform me from the inside out. And in so doing, I lie to myself. And self, she is a wicked good liar. Tells me I’m okay, everyone slips up sometimes, it’s not a big deal. Tells me I’m not as bad as “so and so”. Tells me to just substitute intimacy with I AM for some other god.

Jeremiah 17:9 (NASB) The heart is more deceitful than all else And is desperately sick; Who can understand it?

Yikes. All that advice to just “follow your heart.” No thanks.

Merely hearing the word and not obeying it, it’s like seeing my self in the mirror and still have no clue what I look like. Like looking into God’s word and totally missing HIM. His beauty, His grace, His holiness.

Friends look at what happens when you really listen, when you drink deeply . . .

James 1:25 25 (NASB)  But whoever looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues in it—not forgetting what they have heard, but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do.

Exodus 20:6  (NLT) But I lavish unfailing love for a thousand generations on those who love me and obey my commands.

Leave a Reply

