Thanks-Seeing

I posted a photo of the first page of my list. My Eucharisteo list, my personal One Thousand Gifts. The moment I hit ‘publish’ I almost wanted to yank it back. This learning the language of gratitude is harder than I thought it would be. I think I am generally a very thankful person, yet I look at the Joy Dare list for January, and I struggle.

I actually think to myself as I look around my less than tidy home, “Well, I could think of a few things I am not thankful for.” As that thought slipped out of my mind, my hand went to my heart. How dare I? Apparently, I have a lot of work to do. Psalm 139:23 “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.”  I pray that in earnest. 

I am telling you friends, it is startling to look at this world with a gratitude perspective. Here are a few from my list for this week:

3. The first bite of breakfast – it’s so lovely to feel your body audibly sigh its own ‘thank you’

12. Rahab . . . amazing faith rewarded with an amazing legacy.

13. A family linked arm in arm, worshiping together

20. Dance  . . . does a soul good.

22. Dirty dishes and laundry – they tell of Your provision!

25. Wrapping a warm towel straight from the dryer around Julia as I plucked her out of the bath . . . she giggled in absolute happiness.

16. HOPE

2 thoughts on “Thanks-Seeing

Leave a Reply

