A Book Review – The Hunger Games

I admit that I have been known to be a book snob. Fellow English majors, you know  what I mean. “If it’s popular, it can’t be that good.” Sometimes, many times, that old saying holds up. I am glad to say that this time, it did not.

For months, MONTHS, friends have been nagging me to read The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. I don’t know why, I just never got around to it. I was finally persuaded by a trusted friend, and fellow sometimes-book-snob, who had bought the e-version and let me borrow it on my Nook. I could sum up my review with this statement: My Nook’s battery has run down for the first time in the past two weeks, twice.

First I have to applaud Suzanne for being a fantastic writer. Her characters are well-rounded and so real. The dialogue flows, the elements of suspense and danger have you charging through yet afraid to turn the next page and the romantic elements are a far cry from the sappy, soap opera stuff that I loathe.

Someone asked me to describe the sub-genre the book would fall into and I found myself grappling for an answer. It has elements of fantasy, thriller, sci-fi, romance and drama. It’s an all things to all people kind of novel I guess. Something for everyone even though I can assure you that this isn’t a book for everyone.

Case in point, if you like your stories tied up in a happy bow, don’t look here. It is a bittersweet story. There’s as much loss as there is victory. If you’re looking for something fun, different and unpredictable, The Hunger Games is the ticket!

Leave a Reply

