Christmas is Coming

My house is all Christmasey (is that a word? It is now!) and I love it. I think we’ve already watched Elf three times, Home Alone twice and The Christmas Story once. I know I am a dying breed, but I am glad I waited until after Thanksgiving. I like to give the Turkey his due, and then go all out at once.  This really is the most wonderful time of the year.

Today our pastor shared a sermon on Expectancy. That’s what this whole season is about, and our whole lives as believers. Rick said something this morning that really struck me, “Christianity is a future-oriented faith. In this way, it is different from every other religion. Every other religion looks backward to the teachings of its prophets, while Christianity looks ahead. Christianity points one forward and says that in the end, Christ wins the victory. So at its core, Christianity is about living your life with expectation.”

Don’t we all get bogged down with the mess of this life, tangled up in the past and struggling to move forward, to live and let live, to forgive and step into a new season? I do. I realized this morning that I have not been living with much expectancy. I’ve let the junk cloud my vision and muddy my perspective. I am so thankful that it’s Christmastime. I am excited to celebrate Advent and look ahead to the “plans for good, a hope and a future,” (Jeremiah 29:11) that He has for me.

And with all that said, we are indeed doing a Jesse Tree again this year. Some have asked what it is and/or are not familiar with Advent, so here is the link to Ann Voskamp’s site which includes a link to subscribe to and download a free Advent/Jesse Tree book  – A Holy Experience.

Our Jesse (or Advent) Tree on Day 1
One thought on “Christmas is Coming

  1. Hey there, I found your blog as I researched for a blog project. Would you drop a me a line, I think you might be interested in what I’m doing. bookgirl4 [at] att.net.

    Thanks!
    Jessica

Leave a Reply

