30 Days of Thankful – Week One

Here we are folks – November! I feel like I blinked and the holidays are knocking on my door. And already, I know that this is going to be a good November and December. Truthfully, last year was really hard. I am moving into this holiday season with a different perspective. Thankful.

I am thankful for so much, and I’d like to take this month to write about it.

So here we are week one – Seven things I am thankful for (November 1-7)

*I know it sounds like a Sunday school answer, but I am most thankful for Jesus. Thank you for bridging the great divide between me and my failure and a perfect God. Thank you for giving me a hope and future. Thank you for loving me.

*Family – I have a big, crazy one starting with my little tribe. We had my middle sister’s wedding in October, and it was so unbelievable wonderful to be surrounded by family. To be loved without pretense; to know each other’s stories and idiosyncrasies so intimately. From mom and dad to my teensy little newborn cousin, I love, love, love my family.

*My job – I celebrated 1 year today. What a crazy, nervous mess i was a year ago! I truly enjoy the people I work with and the people we serve. Vision really is a beautiful thing and an amazing gift!

*Friends who pray – this one, I cannot be thankful enough. I am a firm believer in the power of prayer. I am indebted to some amazing women in my life who come beside me and intercede for me when all I can do is grieve, when I am too tired to keep going . . . and I heal, I live, I keep going. You know who you are.

*Toilet paper. I know . . . sounds dumb. But when you have very little, it is a basic something that you come to appreciate very much. And I cannot tell you how many times over the past two years that friends have randomly brought TP to me. You know, sometimes it was not even that we were on our last roll, but perhaps I needed that mega-pack of TP to remind me that God is my provider. So yeah, I am thankful for toilet paper.

*Whole Foods Market – yeah, not spiritual at all, but welcome. Welcome to OKC. I like to go there and rejoice over the beautiful cilantro, stare at the meat counter (YUM) and just ogle over the cheese. Sigh.

*Great Teachers – I can really say that all my kids have amazing one. From Julia’s teacher in the baby room who has raised 5 kids of her own, to Lyla’s INCREDIBLY patient teachers – so many two year olds. How do they do it? And Jonah has the best first grade teacher. She loves what she does, and it shows.

Good night friends. Be thankful.

Leave a Reply

