Banned Books, Baby!

Much to my budget’s disdain, a Half-Price Books is opening right around the corner from me.  I mean 2 blocks people..  Guess you know where my new favorite hang out will be. To get a jump-start, I am going to sell a few next week

Anyway, Banned Books Week starts tomorrow and goes through October 1st. While I am often referred to as a “goody-goody,” not so long ago, I would be labeled a “bad girl” if anyone happened to look on my book shelves. I read banned books. It’s true. In fact, my shelves are absolutely full of them. I have no shame. These aren’t Harlequins either folks. Nope, some of my banned books include these favorite titles:

The Bible

The Great Gatsby

Harry Potter Series

To Kill a Mockingbird

Bridge to Terabithia

The Giver

And loads more . . . Turns out my kids are rebels too what with our reading Shel Silverstein’s A Light in the Attic and Captain Underpants!

The thing is that there are books out there that are total crap, but that’s for you to decide. Our first amendment is often twisted and used to make saying anything and everything okay, but Banned Books Week better demonstrates what this amendment is all about. We’re fortunate to live in a country where we can read books and form ideas for ourselves, yup, including what I believe is the most important book of all – The Bible. We often forget that in many, many other countries a person can be jailed, even killed for having one.

So, go ahead, read a banned book this week and be thankful that you have the freedom to do so!

Leave a Reply

