Good Grief

Over the last year and a half I have become well acquainted with grief. It was not something I had any experience with or knowledge of prior to its entrance into my life. Grief is not just a sadness, it is truly a breaking of the heart from loss. Real, deep, life-altering loss.

In our fast-paced, “get over it” culture, we’re often encouraged to sweep it under the rug, to pick ourselves up by our bootstraps and get on with it. We’re told to “shake it off, and “move on.”  No time to waste right? Wrong. Grief is a process to be worked through and experienced. It’s essential to healing. If you’ve ever been physically hurt, had surgery, etc you know that healing HURTS. It doesn’t feel good, but slowly it does feel better.

Here are some quotes about grief that I love:

“Happiness is beneficial for the body, but it is grief that develops the powers of the mind” Marcel Proust

“Those things that hurt, instruct.” Benjamin Franklin

“He that conceals his grief finds no remedy for it” Turkish Proverb

“I loathe a friend whose gratitude grows old, a friend who takes his friend’s prosperity but will not voyage with him in his grief” Euripides

As I am mulling over all this, I think of my amazing friends and family who have willingly (maybe some unwillingly!) journeyed with me into this season. Grieving people aren’t always fun to be friends with. I get that. But we need good friends, real friends. Friends who understand that and accept that grief changes people. Friends who are willing to hear the same laments over and over. Friends who laugh and cry with you. Those kinds of relationships are wrought through work and tears and inevitably, joy. To mine I say a big, THANK YOU and Bless you for blessing me.

Here are some resources for those who are grieving: GriefShare, DivorceCare

One thought on “Good Grief

Leave a Reply

