And Away I go!

In my last post, I ended with the phrase, “It’s my time to dance.” Funny, God must have put those words on my finger tips for a reason because that’s just what He had planned for me last weekend. He is so good.

I am firm believer that dancing is one of the best forms of exercise/expression/worship there is. I admit it. I am not a good Baptist at all. 😉  But somewhere along the way some years ago, I stopped dancing. I got bogged down with life. My steps have not been so light. I have not felt free.

So I went on a little trip last weekend to Texas – specifically the Ft. Worth area to stay with some of my very favorite people and attend a women’s conference at a church there. I almost backed out. I wanted to make an excuse. It is a long drive, and I was tired. I am always tired. So 4 hours in the car with three small kids did not sound like fun to me. Nevertheless, I packed them up and away we went!  Much to my surprise, the kids were absolutely amazing on the ride there. Miracles do happen, people!  I had a feeling that God did have something special in store for me.

We arrived late on Thur evening, and I got everyone all shuffled off to bed. Friday morning was the first session. We got the kids checked in, I had Dunkin Donuts coffee ( and all the people said Amen) and I had NO idea what to expect. Truth be told, I had been on spiritual auto-pilot lately. Just tired and going through the motions. Dazed by the crazy events of the past year. I knew that I was coming into a new season, but I felt sort of stuck in the present. The worship started and I felt . . . tentative. Like meeting up with an old friend who you’ve had a very close friendship with but have not seen in years – you want to hug them, but should you? The women around me were just recklessly abandoned to God – giving God their full attention and love. They were singing. I mean SINGING like this was their last chance ever. It was beautiful.

Over the course of that day, I felt like I began to wake up. And Friday night, I got what the Lord had waiting for me – the green light to throw off these mourning clothes and step out into the light with my new self. Isaiah 43:19 “See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.” It’s time to really start forgiving and to remain diligent to not close off my heart. And, oh yeah, it was time to dance.

I could pretend to be all pious and say we danced to some nice Christian music . . . but the truth is that we did the conga (thank you Ms. Estefan, you never disappoint!) some K.C. and the Sunshine Band, some Beyonce and of course, some Michael Jackson. Oh, and the cha-cha slide. You can’t have a dance without the cha-cha slide. I had no idea how good it would feel to let go and get down. Amazing.

Of course, not a day into my newfound joy, an unpleasant kink was thrown my way  . . . and so I staggered to a short stop realizing that this new season won’t be without pain or brokenness, but it won’t be a season OF pain and brokenness. I’ll use a very descriptive term I heard that weekend, “Cinderella on a donkey.”  So, let’s hop up on this donkey and go!  Hee haw. 😉

Leave a Reply

