No more drama for this mama!

I have said it before, and I will say it again . . . Jonah spoiled me as a parent. He was, for the most part, a very easy baby and toddler. This only led me to overestimate my abilities as a parent. Nature . . . nurture? Whatever.

Lyla is one month away from two, but I have been calling her a two-year-old for a while now. As of late, my usually happy toddler is full of drama. Loads of drama. I can say “no” in the most calm, serene, fairy-god-mother voice I can muster and she’s down on the floor in gut-wrenching sobs. I look at her wrong and she goes to pieces; I don’t cook dinner fast enough and she’s crying into the carpet.  I mean, really. We’re ALL a little weary of the tantrums!

Friends, advice here? Thoughts? Ideas? I’m open for suggestions and nominations for the Supernanny to come pay me a visit. 🙂

Still, despite how crazy her constant crying makes me, I am working on having a better attitude overall. Truthfully, I’ve had a crappy tude for the past couple of weeks, and it’s not working for us. God’s reminded me of these verses:

Philippians 4:8 “Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.”  NASB

and

Philippians 2:14 “Do everything without complaining or arguing,” NIV

And just for fun, I composed this little ditty for Lyla this morning as I was attempting to laugh her out of one of her funks: sing this to the tune of Dancing Queen by Abba 🙂

Drama Queen, I always find you crying/can’t you see/that nothing’s wrong, but yet you love to holler, scream and bother oh Drama Queen!

2 thoughts on “No more drama for this mama!

  1. I can honestly say it will get better. She is testing the boundaries. They need to be in control of something and they seem to only hear no. I know that is probably not true for you, but to them the world is full of big people who don’t let them do anything. The drama queen business, however, may never go away. Mine woke up as a DQ on her 3rd birthday and only gets worse as she gets older.

Leave a Reply

