C’Mon, Get Happy!

I have to admit something to you. I have caught myself feeling sorry for my kids. (Wow, it looks even more awful in type!) Why, you ask? Because they have to depend mainly on me for their raising, a solo mama who more often than not, knoweth not what the heck she doest.

We rush, we scramble, we’re wrinkled, we’re whiney (yes, all of us), dinner’s never on time and Jonah probably does more chores than the average six-year-old bear. 😉 It’s hard sometimes not to feel like they got the short end of the stick, and then little things make me realize how utterly untrue that is.

Exhibit A: Jules love to look into your face and grin from ear to ear.  I can make her crack a smile every time (with the exception of when I am slow on making a bottle!) but watching her reaction when her brother or sister approaches is like watching sunlight hit a diamond. Dazzling. She chirps and erupts with delight as her siblings talk to her. I think to myself, “They will always have each other – thank you Lord!” 

Exhibit B: As the girls napped today Jonah and I sat on the couch and watched the AKC Competition, laughing over some of the funny looking dogs.  I look over at my boy who is smiling and twirling a strand of my hair. That’s what I call Mama Heaven.

Exhibit C: An unfortunate trip to the doc with Lyla isn’t so unfortunate at all. Despite being sick, she has the time of her life playing with stethoscopes, bouncing in the seat at Target waiting on her script and yelling out names of fruit at the grocery store.  I love my happy girl.

When I think of all this I stop feeling sorry for them (and myself) and I start being grateful for these amazing gifts God gave to me. I may not be the world’s best mom, not even close, but I am honored to be their mom.

Philippians 4:8 “Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise,  dwell on these things.”

One thought on “C’Mon, Get Happy!

Leave a Reply

