I Wish I had a River, I would Skate away . . .

I never understood that Joni Mitchell song until this year. Sometimes it feels easier to just run far, far away than face the hurt dead-on. It’s a little hard to believe that Christmas has come and gone, and we have begun a new year. This holiday season has been a bit bewildering. So bittersweet. Overflowing with joy one minute and being hit with the pain of heartache the next. I love Christmas so much – the anticipation, the joy, the smells, the celebration, but even so, with circumstances as they are, it was hard for my little family too. Every time I would have to do something alone  that I was so accustomed to doing with a spouse, reality would come crashing in on me.  While this has been such a special Christmas, with much thanks to many generous individuals who blessed the socks of this single mama, I was ready to see this season go.

Today I put Christmas away. Folded the tree back into its box, neatly wrapped the ornaments and tucked them away. As I did, the phrase, “the gift that keeps on giving” came to mind, and I smiled. No, I don’t mean the jelly of the month club. ; )  I mean Jesus. This Christmas, through the mixture of joy and pain, I have never been more thankful for the tremendous gift God gave us in His son, and Jesus ultimate gift of salvation. No amount of things, no matter how nice can dull the pain of heartbreak, can right wrongs or heal brokenness. Just Jesus. He is the gift that keeps on giving. His blood covers it all.

With that in mind, I was excited to get a message today from one of my dearest friends asking me to participate with her in memorizing 24 scriptures this year for Beth Moore’s Sieasta Scripture Memory Team.

I also decided to jump on the One Word for the year train and chose tenacious. Tenacious means (according to Merriam-Webster): not easily pulled apart, adhering/clinging to something,  persistent in maintaining, adhering to, or seeking something valued or desired.  And so, my first memory verse is Lamentations 3:25 “The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, to the person who seeks Him.” NASB.

So here’s to tenacity, to new beginnings and a God who never sleeps and really sees. Here’s hoping you are most blessed this year in seeking God in all you do.  And I want to thank you all (whoever you are!) for reading this blog and sharing your hearts with me, for your prayers and your love. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

