An “Ah ha!” Moment

Saying, “single parenting is hard” is like saying, “having a million dollars would be neat.” Neither of these statments even begins to really describe the truth of those situations. Words like overwhelming, exhausting and yes, even wonderful are much better decriptors.  One thing is for sure, I am constantly challenged to innovate in order to better parent my three kids.

One of the biggest challenges is their ages. Six, nearly two and 3 months.  Each is vastly different developmentally.  All want my attention in different ways.  Many evenings, I feel frustrated and frazzled as I attempt to make dinner (and bottles) go over homework, do the bathtime and bed routine, etc. There has been many a night where I sat down after all three were asleep and realzied I had not had a second of quality time with them all day. That just doesn’t fly with me. Something has to change. As usual, that “something” is me.

Because truthfully, a rough evening usually coincides with my bad, “woe is me” attitude. Single or married, selfishness and parenting do not mix. Tonight I was determined to not fall victim to the downhill slide. I decided to try shifts. A little focused time here, a little focused time there and one by one, each got what they wanted from me. While I barely got so much as a few bites of dinner between 6pm and 8pm, I did get smiles and hugs and meaningful conversation with my 6 year old.  And there was peace at bed time. No squalling, no fussing – just rest. Thank you Lord for rest.

Isaiah 26:3 “You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you.”

And with that, I am off to bed at a decent hour.  Good night!

One thought on “An “Ah ha!” Moment

Leave a Reply

