Good Morning

For the most part, I have always been a morning person.  My dad is too. Yes, we are the strange ones who enjoy rising with the sun, when it’s quiet and new. When I was a little girl, I used to sometimes get up with my dad (at 5 something?!), and he would give me a little cup of coffee. I don’t remember what we talked about on those early mornings, but I know it was special, and it instilled in me a lifelong love of coffee.  Hey, it was the early 80s, my dad didn’t know it wasn’t a good idea to give caffeine to a small child! 😉

I still love mornings. To me, it is the most innocent part of the day. It holds a realm of possibilities. It is a fresh start, a clean slate of sorts. The Bible says in Psalm 30:5 “Weeping may go on all night, but joy comes with the morning.” In fact, I entered “morning” into the search engine on Blue Letter Bible and PAGES of references popped up. Depending on which version you use, it occurs somewhere around 230 times in the Bible in more than 200 separate verses.

Psalm 92:1-2 says, ” . . . It is good to give thanks to the LORD And to sing praises to Your name, O Most High; To declare Your lovingkindness in the morning And Your faithfulness by night,”

For any of you who are grieving something, someone or have grieved, you know well that the nighttime can be torturous at best. Night is when the loneliness creeps in, when you’re most likely to drudge up old memories, when the regrets sweep over you, when the tears spill out onto your pillow after keeping your smile tightly fastened on your face all day.  The nights can be the worst. And yeah, sometimes, you wake up just thankful that the night is over.  And there’s a new day. Another day to trust Him, another day to move on, another day to believe in Him, another day to do what’s right and good, another day to live and breathe and love. That may sound dramatic to some, but when your heart is broken for whatever reason, just breathing seems pretty amazing sometimes.

So after what could be described as a “rough” week, I was excited to wake up this morning and see the sunshine filtering in through my curtains, promising me that while everything may not yet be finished or even okay, this was a new day and a new opportunity to praise God, to bless Him and to bless others.  Good Morning, world!

Here’s my favorite “Morning Songs” as of late:

Leave a Reply

