Praise Him

I am thinking about Jericho today . . . and trumpets. I have always found it so intriguing that in  this particular Old Testament battle, God sent the music peeps out first. I imagine some of that was for intimidation, but I also have to imagine that God wanted His people to really grasp the power of praise when facing the enemy.

I know I do.

Joshua 6:16, NASB “At the seventh time, when the priests blew the trumpets, Joshua said to the people, “Shout! For the LORD has given you the city.” then Joshua 6:20, NASB “So the people shouted, and priests blew the trumpets; and when the people heard the sound of the trumpet, the people shouted with a great shout and the wall fell down flat, so that the people went up into the city, every man straight ahead, and they took the city.”

Imagine how amazing it must have been to watch those walls crumble. In my own life, I have watched over and over how the power of praising God in overwhelming circumstances brings walls crashing down. When I cry out that He is Holy and just, my perspective moves from hopelessness to hope. When I sing in remembrance of how good He has been and is, my fear  melts away. When I praise Him for the Cross, everything shifts into focus. It’s all that matters. These present troubles are just that, temporary, fleeting. But the Lord – His love endures forever. 1 Chronicles 16:34, NIV “Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever.”

Psalm 100:5, NIV “For the Lord is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.”

Here are a few more of my favorite verses on this subject of praising Him through adversity. Whatever you’re going through, friend, no matter how counterproductive it seems, lift up that voice of yours and choose to praise Him . . . you won’t be disappointed. 🙂

Psalm 40:3, NASB “He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God; Many will see and fear And will trust in the LORD.”

Psalm 63:3, NASB “Because Your lovingkindness is better than life, My lips will praise You.”

Isaiah 61:3, NLT “To all who mourn in Israel,He will give beauty for ashes, joy instead of mourning, praise instead of despair. For the LORD has planted them like strong and graceful oaks for his own glory.”

Act 16:25-26, NASB “But about midnight Paul and Silas were praying and singing hymns of praise to God, and the prisoners were listening to them; and suddenly there came a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison-house were shaken; and immediately all the doors were opened and everyone’s chains were unfastened.”

One thought on “Praise Him

Leave a Reply

