“Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it.” ~Russel Baker

Thursday was Jonah’s last day of pre-K, and I ain’t gonna lie – I got a little emotional.  Another year gone, and my baby boy will be a kindergartener in the fall. I just want to grab time by the tail and whip it into submission. “Quit making my babies grow up so fast!” I’d yell.  Then I recall that I am having another baby in a few short months, and I calm down.

 We spent Memorial Day weekend in Texas at my cousin’s house celebrating her daughter’s high school graduation. My word, I remember when that girl was just a baby.  Feeling old much? Why yes, thanks. Her son had also flown in from California where he stationed with the Marines. He’ll be deployed to Afghanistan in August. I haven’t seen him since he was graduating from high school, and I was shocked really to see that he is a grown man now!  There was this moment during the graduation ceremony where a small choir sang the Star Spangled Banner, and I looked over to see my cousin saluting, donned in his Marine uniform, hat and all.  I have to tell you, I could not have been more proud. It does a soul good to see pride for country, honor and dedication so richly displayed in a young man.

On a lighter note, it’s obvious that Lyla already has a thing for men in uniform. She could not get enough of her cousin! Then again, she also has a thing for old men with beards . . . so, yeah. 🙂 

I wish we had time to putter around Austin some while we were there.  I wanted to show Jonah the house I grew up in, the parks I played at, the elementary school I went to . . . you know, for proof that I really was a kid once, a long time ago. Just like I heart Nashville, I will always heart Austin too. I credit my weirdness to that town where the motto is “Keep Austin Weird.” I also credit it for my love of history, literature and Mexican food.

 We made our way back to Oklahoma Sunday afternoon, and I had to laugh at some of the awesomely named Texas towns . . . really, you have to give props to Oklahoma and Texas for their creativity.  My favs on the way home were Bruceville, Eddy and Hico.

Today, is our first official day of summer. So far we’ve signed up for the summer reading program with the library, went to Target to get Lyla some plastic hair bands for her summer sprouties and after naps (Hallelujah, can I get an amen?!) we’re off to the spray park where I might possibly scare small children with my ginormous belly and mismatched tan.

Happy Summer Ya’ll!

One thought on ““Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it.” ~Russel Baker

  1. Crystal you have such a way with words. Love reading your updates. Want to write my admissions essay for college for me???

Leave a Reply

