Newsworthy

 

I don’t have a television. It’s been this way since October. It started as sort of a little experiment to see what it would be like, and we’ve just sort of gotten used to it. I do miss it – my children need PBS kids.  Okay, I need PBS kids to get me through the summer! Another downside is that if I fail to get online on any given day, I often have no idea of what’s happening in the world.

On Saturday I logged on to Facebook and was shocked to see post after post from my beloved Nashville friends of intense flooding due to an unprecendented amount of rainfall in a very short amount of time. While I know that my big, pregnant self would not be any help to anyone physically, I long to be there.  I want to help. So I got to praying.

Even though the skies over Middle Tennessee cleared to a brilliant blue yesterday, the Cumberland river continued to rise, spilling over its banks and flooding the downtown area, including Broadway with its historic shops and honky tonks, the Country Music Hall of Fame and the Titan’s Stadium. It emptied the Opryland hotel of visitors as well as OpryMills mall and the Grand Old Opry House. Even worse was hearing the reports from friends of being evacuated from their homes by boat, friends losing everything they own, a general lack of flood insurance and worse still, the deaths which are still left to be tallied as officials expect to find more bodies among the homeless population once the waters recede from downtown.

This is all so heavy on my heart, and then I found myself miffed at the lack of media coverage – I keep mentioning this to people here in Oklahoma who honestly have no idea what’s happening to a place that I still call home.

All I am asking today is as you read this is to please pray for those in Nashville and the surrounding areas throughout Middle Tennessee who will experience the effects of this flood long after the water recedes. To learn more go here and here.

2 thoughts on “Newsworthy

  1. thanks, Crystal. A guy who reads my blog told me that he hadn’t heard a thing about the flooding until he read my blog. It’s sad, but all will be well. 🙂

  2. The lack of coverage just boggles my mind really. I know you guys are in good hands – wish I was there to help!

Leave a Reply

