Way Past my “Way Past”

Has anyone ever just blown your socks off with kindness?  I mean, doing something so past what you expected that you felt so absolutely loved and cherished that you wanted to just cry?  Okay, maybe I am being a little dramatic, but maybe not.

Did you know that God does this for His children ALL THE TIME?

For me in particular, I’d like to revisit last week – as you might recall, Lyla was sick – again – with the flu and other unpleasantness which left me no choice but to cloister her and myself in the house for about 5 days.  On top of that we were dragging thanks to an erratic sleep schedule due to the congestion and coughing…oh and the fact that being ill had absolutely little effect on her energy level. Sigh.  What a long week.

So I was elated to get an all clear on Thursday from the doctor, meaning that Jason and I could go to his company party and gorge on Mexican food.  Mmmm… oh, sorry!

It was on Friday that I realized that it was also the weekend of an event that I had really wished I could attend – Deeper Still – a women’s Bible conference with three of my favorite teachers, Kay Arthur, Beth Moore and Priscilla Shires. It just wasn’t in our budget.

Wouldn’t you know that that same Friday a friend from church posted on facebook that she had an extra free ticket and did anyone want it? Wouldn’t you know that I said “YES! PLEASE!”  So, my sweet husband graciously offered to chill all day with the kids while I spent Saturday with some amazing women diving into God’s word.

Priscilla preached first on Saturday, and these are the verses she taught on: Ephesians 3:20-21 “Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us, to Him {be} the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever. Amen.”

In a nutshell, Priscilla exhorted us to remember that He is able!  He goes far, far beyond what we would ever imagine to be the realm of “beyond”. He does far, more abundantly. He goes way past what I would consider the “way past” mark.  I need God to walk a mile with me, He walks ten thousand.  Do you see what I mean?

And honestly, getting to be at Deeper Still was so beyond my beyond. I just wanted to be out of my house for a bit, to spend some time with other adult women, to not change a diaper or wipe a nose for a day and He served up an entire day away from home at an event that I never expected to get to attend with sweet, sweet precious women from my church.  I’d call that way past my way past.

Of  course, every week brings with it new challenges, new hurdles, different burdens, etc, etc. But I feel so blessed to remember that God is able to do so much more than we could ever imagine.  I’m encouraged to stop trying to fit Him into my teeny, tiny little self-made box.  He won’t fit.  He absolutely won’t fit.


Leave a Reply

