Good Old Oswald

I detest Daylight Savings Time.  It never used to be a big deal until I had kids. Before kids I would groan at Spring Forward and rejoice at Fall Back.  But then I had kids.

Kids have amazing little internal clocks.  Even if you aren’t super strict with a schedule in your household, most kids naturally fall into a pretty predictable schedule, and they like it. A lot. My children, for example, normally go to bed by 8pm and they wake up at 6:30 or 7am.  Yes, early risers – and they’re always very energetic too!  But when DST rolls around, UGH.  UGH!!!!!!! At 6:30pm is dark now, and they are tired! (hello, they’ve been up since the crack of dawn!)  I know they want to go to bed, but for the sake of our sanity, they have to wait another hour or we’ll get a 5am wake up call.  Not cool. So, long story short, It’s Saturday and I have been up since 6:30 because their little bodies think it’s 7:30am – which is sleeping in for us.   Oh, how I hate thee, DST!

The good news?  The dishes are done, laundry’s started and Lyla is on her first nap, so I get to goof off on the computer. But first I did a little reading in My Utmost for His Highest.  I got my first copy of the little book when I was in college.  It still amazes me how a preacher who actually died pretty young a long time ago has made such an impact on generations of believers. Over the years I have often read it along with my Bible study, and have found his insight into God’s word to be amazingly poignant.

This morning was no different.  For November 7th the key Bible passage is “We know that all things work together for good to those who love God . . . ” Romans 8:28

This passage is kind of a toughie.  Does that mean that if I believe in Jesus and love God that my life will be one big bowl of sunshine? Doubtful.  No let me rephrase that –  YEAH, RIGHT!  O.C. has a different take on it.  He says, “The circumstances of a saint’s life are ordained of God. In the life of a saint there is no such thing as chance . . . God brings you to places, among people, and into certain conditions to accomplish a definite purpose through the intercession of the Spirit in you.” In other words, we really aren’t meant to just (as Dave Ramsey calls it) “be-bop” along through life thinking everything that happens is just an amazing coincidence. 

O.C. continues, “All your circumstances are in the hand of God . . . you don’t ever have to think they are unnatural or unique. Your part in intercessory prayer is not to agonize over how to intercede, but to use the everyday circumstances and people God puts around you by His providence to bring them before His throne, and to allow the Spirit in you the opportunity to intercede for them. In this way God is going to touch the whole world with His saints.”  This is pretty amazing to me who used to be under this assumption that I needed to go searching for opportunities to serve God, when really – God’s got them in place right where I am.  I just have to open my eyes and pay attention! 

This must be why “praying without ceasing”  (1 Thessalonians 5:16) is so important.  That must be why abiding in Him (John 15:4) is so necessary!  If my greatest purpose is to know God and make Him known, I better look up and take notice of where GOd has me, who He’s surrounded me with and listen.  It’s tempting sometime as a (mostly) stay at home mom to think that I don’t he many opportunities to “get out there and serve God.”  That couldn’t be less true!  Not only am I holding the precious gift given to Jason and I of raising up our kids to know God and make Him known, I have countless opportunities with the people I see and talk to everyday to intercede, to just let God’s love overflow into their lives.

You really never do know how or when God will move in another person’s life. Sometimes He even speaks to people through silly, grammatical-error ridden blogs.  🙂

Old Oswald ends with this thought, “Am I making the Holy Spirit’s work difficult by being vague and unsure, or by trying to do His work for Him?” OUCH. “I must do the human side of intercession— utilizing the circumstances in which I find myself and the people who surround me. I must keep my conscious life as a sacred place for the Holy Spirit. Then as I lift different ones to God through prayer, the Holy Spirit intercedes for them.”  Right on.

 

Leave a Reply

