Back from the Edge

When I last blogged, I belive I was ill . . . Jason too, oh yeah, and Lyla.  A month later, we have finally (almost) emerged from under the cloud of yuckiness that has hung over our home.  Not a week after the weekend yuckies, Lyla developed a week-long unexplained fever and then she and Jonah reached the pinnacle of sickness with the full-blown seasonal flu.

Did I mention that I might scream if I have to purchase another box of tissues, can of Lysol or fever-reducing medicine any time soon? A HSA looks really appealing, and logical, right now.  So, that’s where I’ve been.  In case you were wondering. 🙂

Despite the sickness, life moves on, and boy does it ever!  Here’s a run-down of the going-ons here at the Z house.

*If you read Jason’s blog or FB page you might notice that he appears to be selling everything we own.  And if that’s the impression you got; you’d be right.  We’re in week 5 of Financial Peace University and hitting our stride. This is our second time to go through FPU, and while it’s not like we didn’t get it the first time . . . we really get it this time.  They say that time is a healer of all things, and I say that it also helps with perspective too.  Right now we’re selling and socking away every last dime to reach our emergency fund, and then we get serious. Seriously. More to come on that front!

 DSCN1133As you can see, here, baby girl is 7 months old.  Oh, and she is wearing cloth diapers.  Sidenote:  Never say you won’t do something, because you just might have to eat your words .  . . or wash them, dry them and pad your baby’s bum with them.  ha!  See, this whole living below our means thing seems to be flooding into every area of our lives.  Get it? Flooding?! I know, sad.  Anyway, some very cool friends gave these to us.  What a blessing!  And after two weeks, I have a confession to make.  I like them. A lot.  They are not what I presumed they would be – a lot of work (as if I don’t have enough to do!).  In fact, they really are just a teeny bit more work that the disposable and cheaper, AND YES, better for the environment. My funny best friend, J, who I lovingly refer to as the “cloth diaper queen” asked if I was going to be hugging trees or wearing Birkenstocks soon? Ha ha.  I deserved that. Lesson learned, don’t judge a diaper by its cover.  And by the way, the covers are very cute!

*It’s Fall!  Glorious Fall!  And yes, I realize that technically I don’t need to capitalize Fall since it’s a season, but it’s my favorite.  So there. The trees are actually turning colors this year, thanks to the extra rain.  That’s part of why places like Tennessee (home to some of the most awesome Fall foliage!) have such beautiful Falls, the rain.  I always remember Fall being a very rainy time of year in Nashville.  Jonah has been especially excited to see the reds, oranges and yellows. It’s just so nice that we actually get a nice transition into winter rather than the usual Hot/Cold mess we’re used to.

*Since the sickness, I have been cooking a lot more lately.  Oh yeah, and we’re not eating out, at all. Unless some sympathetic soul wants to give mommy a break and throw us a bone, as in a gift card to somewhere, anywhere.  😉 I’ve cooked all manner of goodies so far this month including chicken spaghetti, roast beef, pork chops and rice, spinach and cheese stuffed chicken and Samye’s delicious fish recipe that she gave to me this summer (which I believe was Weight Watchers?!) Since the cold weather is seeping in, I am in full soup mode.  Oh baby. Nothin’ better than soup.  It’s easy, it’s warm, it’s versatile!  Seriously, we’re having chili, homemade chicken noodle and beans & cornbread just this week.  My latest favorite cookbook is one I have been pleasantly surprised by, Trisha Yearwood’s Georgia Cooking in an Oklahoma Kitchen.  It’s so homey, so yummy. But I have my eye on another . . . also an Okie – The Pioneer Woman!

My friend, Carla, encouraged me to Ree Drummond’s site this summer, and I have been hooked ever since.  She’s funny, she’s real, she cooks (oh, she COOKS!), she takes amazing photos . . . she has a lot going on in a very non-intimidating, you want to be neighbors with her kind of way.  So she has a cookbook coming out next week The Pioneer Woman Cooks. And I want it.  I really, really do.  If I get one present this year, I want that. I hope Jason reads this.  🙂  And to top it off, she’s going to be in OKC next week for her book tour.  And I’m going!  My husband said one time that while I rarely get starstruck, that when I do it is with people who rarely find themselves in that position.  Not sure what that says about me, but I think Ree is cool.

Okay, it’s officially midnight, and I am officially tired.  And in case I haven’t said this in a long while, for those who take the time to read this thing, thank you!  Thank you very much.  Night!

Leave a Reply

