First Week

She’s a week old already!  It’s been a whirlwind for sure.  We’re all just taken with her.  I find myself saying to Jonah many times a day to “back off!” or “give her some space, please.”  He is all up in her business. 🙂

Speaking of Jonah, he informed us that he no longer wants to be called Jonah.  He wants us to refer to him as Big Brother.  In fact, he even refers to himself in the third person as Big Brother.  Like most men I know, he already has his identity tied up in his work! 😉

Depsite the sleep deprivation, Jason and I are really enjoying becoming parents again.  When your “baby” is 4 years old, it’s easy to forget all the neat things about having a newborn in the house.  Their funny little noises – Lyla chirps, their funny faces and that sweet “new baby” smell.  We, I admit, act like giddy idiots most of the time with her. That’s okay though, it’s baby love!

Lyla had her first doctor appointment on Monday.  She had started to show signs of jaundice in the hospital, and it got worse over the weekend.  After a bilirubin heel stick (which Lyla slept the entire way through) we learned that her bilirubin levels were high enough that she would need to go under the bili lights to bring the levels down to normal.  I freaked.  The first hiccup, and I just freaked!  Although I knew in my head that this was a fairly normal thing that happens to newborns, my heart just wouldn’t hear it which resulted in some minor blubbering and fretting. Ah, but God is good.  He has surrounded us with so many amazing sources of encouragement here in Oklahoma, back in Tennessee and elsewhere.  Friends, you are amazing. 

Today I am waiting for a phone call to see where we are with her levels.  We took her in for another heel stick today (again, she slept right through it!  Atta girl!) I don’t feel anxious.  I just wish I knew how long I’d have to sit here and watch her sleep in her bassinet lying on the bili light.  She literally looks like one of the little glow worm toys I had as a kid.  I’m waiting to take a photo this evening to show you all what I mean.  It’s really cute!

In the midst of all this, I have to say that I have the most amazing mom.  She’s been with us since the birth and has made all this transition a breeze.  That, and she’s fun to have around.  She and Jason almost have too much fun as I am constantly asking them to keep it down, there’s a baby sleeping for pete’s sake! 😉

Well tonight I plan to kick back and watch Marley& Me.  I can’t wait!  It was a fun book.  Also, if you are looking for a funny, lighthearted movie, I highly recommend Baby Mama.  I put off watching this for fear that it would be raunchy like so many “SNL” type movies are.  Not so, Baby Mama was hilarious!  We watched it twice.

2 thoughts on “First Week

  1. HA! I told you Baby Mama was funny! I knew you’d get a kick out of it! I watched it twice too! I’m planning on getting Juno to watch during early labor! I think it will be even more funny to watch now that I’m pregnant! Since I’ve already seen it, what I miss during a contraction won’t be a big deal! lol! Your baby is two weeks old now! ACK!

Leave a Reply

