You Think You Know . . .

Until you have to explain it to a class of 3 and 4 year olds.  And suddenly I become much dumber than I thought.  🙂

Obviously the past two days have been enormously significant in our nation’s history, and even though the kids in my class are young, I thought I should at least attempt an explanation of Martin Luther King Jr. Day and the Inaguaration of President Barack Obama to them.  In hindsight, I should have thought it out more.  Yet, my blunders make for good blogging.

First we have Martin Luther King Jr. Day.  I thought this would be an easy one to explain until I realized that I would also need to explain what a civil right was . . . to a 4 year old.  So I tell them that there was a preacher named Martin Luther King who helped to make sure that everyone no matter what color their skin could eat, drink, live, go to school, work, etc. wherever they wanted.  It might be good to note (in case you’re not around many pre-schoolers) that preschoolers are for the most part completely oblivious to skin color.  They don’t care; why does it matter?  I love this about small kids. As I am attempting to explain this as they are staring at me I realize that it’s awful hard to tell preschoolers about civil rights when they themselves don’t really have a say about anything they do.  I can just see it now, “Mommy, Ms. Crystal says we have civil rights to eat where we want – I want to go to McDonald’s!” 

So I then I ask if they realize that we have a new president . . . surely their parents have mentioned this?  Guess not. One kid.  One kid knew this.  I did think that was a little sad.  So how did I in my eloquence explain an inaguaration?  A big party saying, “Yay!  You’re President!”  The kids found this to be a perfectly acceptable answer. 

Real definition of inauguration:  An inauguration is a ceremony of formal investiture whereby an individual assumes an office or position of authority or power.

Too bad the kids have no idea what a president does.  Sigh.  Oh well, moving on to the letter P, the number 20 and the day of the week.

3 thoughts on “You Think You Know . . .

  1. But in its simplest terms, the inauguration is a big party to say “Yay! You’re President!” I find this definition perfectly acceptable also. 😀
    I admire you for your attempt at teaching 3 and 4 year olds current events!

  2. That is stinkin’ hilarious! It is quite comical to see the reaction of adults to children at that age when the topic of Civil Rights is in question. Outside of crap in the diapers and the inability to write in cursive, there are a few things adults can still learn from children: How to Be a Human Being is a good start.

Leave a Reply

