And the Award Goes to . . .

I’m watching the Golden Globes right now, kind of by accident really.  I sort of stumbled upon the red carpet show on the TV Guide channel while flipping channels.  I like the Golden Globes.  They’re not ghetto like the People’s Choice Awards or ultra snooty like the Oscars.  The Golden Globes are my happy medium.  I mean, they’re all sitting at tables eating good food and chatting.  They actually look happy to be there. Plus, they award TV and movies. 

The show’s been pretty good so far, and I realized that there have actually been a lot of great movies made in 2008.  Before I get into the meat of this post, here’s my list of what I want to see.  Honestly, I’ll most likely see them on DVD or perhaps at the $1 movies.  I just can’t bring myself to spend the moola to go to the real theater, and most of these are on DVD already.

I want to see A Raisin in the Sun, Cranford, John Adams, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Burn After Reading, Rachel Getting Married, Bride Wars, Last Chance Harvey

So since I am in award mode, I thought I’d compile a list of random awards for 2008. 

BLOGS:

Best Blog for Literally Making Me Laugh Out Loud:  Mandy Crow – Unfinished Business. 

Best Blog for Getting My Wheels A’ Turnin:  Pastor Rick Thompson – The Road We Travel

Books:

Favorite New Author(s) of 2008:  Anna Quindlen, Ruth Reichl & Phillip Yancey

Best Just for Fun Reading:  Marley & Me & Standing in the Rainbow

Favorite Cookbook:  Paula Deen’s Kitchen Classics & Rachael Ray’s Big Orange Book (even though she has scary eyebrows on the cover!)

Movies:

Movies I Was Most Suprised to Enjoy:  Wall-E, The Dark Knight

Movie I Finally Rented and Was So Glad I Did:  To Kill a Mockingbird

Movie I Saw in the Theater and Really Enjoyed Only to Not Have Heard of it Since:  Be Kind, Rewind

Other Stuff:

Most visited websites:  Food Network, Facebook, Google

Food I Realized I Really Like:  Banana Peppers, Quiche, Tomatillos & Sour Cream

Most Valued Products:  Lip Balm (not to be confused with chap stick!), hair conditioner (holla if you hear me Preggos!), and Bare Minerals makeup (I like looking non-blotchy and awake) 🙂

This concludes my random and strange Crystal Awards for 2008-09.

3 thoughts on “And the Award Goes to . . .

  1. I make you laugh! I’m thrilled!
    And you like Anna Quindlen! I’m more than thrilled! I think she’s a good writer. I’m reading Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates right now. The journalist in me says he uses too many words in one sentence. But I’m trying to work through that issue and keep reading.

  2. Mandy – you are the one that got me reading Anna Quindlen! You need to recommend some more of her books to me because the library branch I go to only has 2, and I’ve read them both.

Leave a Reply

