Goodbye Sweet Friend . . .

Ashley Carol Holmertz
HOLMERTZ, Ashley Carol Age 23, our precious angel has found rest and healing in the arms of Jesus, October 12, 2008. She fought the good fight and now receives the Crown of Life as promised in James 1:12 to those who love the lord. She will be missed so deeply by her fiancé, Chris Buttram, Chattanooga; mother, Judy Gemmill; step-father, William Gemmill III; father, Frederick Holmertz, Rockford, IL; sister, Allison Marie Holmertz; brother, Eric Nicholas Holmertz, Colorado Springs, CO; step-brother, William Billings Gemmill IV; maternal grandfather, James Crossman; paternal grandparents, Rowland and Eleanor Holmertz. Visitation will be today from 3-5 and 6-9 p.m. at Judson Baptist Church where services will be conducted 1 p.m. Wednesday. Internment will follow in Woodlawn Memorial Park. Although her battle with cancer was long, she endured with the grace and beauty of an angel, and now she will dwell in the house of the Lord forever, Amen.
2 thoughts on “Goodbye Sweet Friend . . .

  1. One of the ladies I work with bring the newspaper in every morning. As I was getting my coffee in the break room, she pointed out the obituary of Ashley. It was all I could do to keep the tears from forming in my eyes as I looked.

    What a beautiful girl Ashley was/is. May she rest well in the arms of Jesus today.

  2. Crystal, It is times like these when no words can be said to comfort you. My sister had a dear friend a few years ago pass away from cancer as well. Nothing could make anyone feel better. So instead, I leave you with the words from the song, Redeemer by Nicole C Mullens –

    To take away my shame
    And He lives forever I’ll proclaim
    That the payment for my sin
    Was the precious life He gave
    But now He’s alive
    And there’s an empty grave.

    And I know my Redeemer, He lives
    I know my Redeemer lives
    Let all creation testify
    This life within me cries
    I know my Redeemer lives

Leave a Reply

