Thingamajigs

Well, my wish came true.  The weather here finally got its act together and is beginning to feel more like Fall.  It was in denial apparently, trying to be an endless summer.  I am hoping this was my last time to switch the A/C off, again. 

Today is a big day for Jonah.  At 3 o’clock we will go to his first dental appointment at the Dental Depot.  We chose this place for three reasons:  A) It has a train theme.  B) They take our insurance and C) They are less than a mile away.  Let’s hope this is a pleasant experience.  He is excited now, but gets all wierd around strangers. Still, if they offer him a new toothbrush or a toy, the kid will be good to go.  I will update you tomorrow on how it went.

I am at home today about to begin hacking away at an impossibly long “To Do” list, most of which is cleaning chores.  Yeck.  I feel like I have months of catch-up to do, and it looks that way too.  What can I say, morning sickness doesn’t really help with trying to have a well-kept home.  My biggest chore will be laundry, which I hate. There’s just so much of it, and I get a little resentful thinking, “I didn’t wear all this stuff, why should I have to put it up?”  I know, no supermom award for me.  🙂

I know this is random, but I just finished a couple of really great books.  I think they’re really great, anyway, but they’re pretty different from anything else I have read, a little odd to tell the truth so I hesitate to recommend them to everyone lest you all think my taste in literature has taken a turn for the worse.  Then again, I don’t really care that much.  I love Reader’s Digest, Mercer Mayer and C.S.  Lewis.  I’m eclectic, and I love it.  Anyway, my grandmother (Nanny – Dad’s mom) lent these books to me the last time I was down in Ryan for a visit.  My grandmother, while barely only having a high school education, is an avid reader.  Always has been.  Where do you think I got my love for Reader’s Digest? 

She handed me two worn, paperback novels and said, “Here Crys, I think you might like these. But it’s okay if ya don’t.”  She’s so funny.  Turns out these books are written by Fannie Flagg.  Fannie Flagg is none other than the author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe on which the movie Fried Green Tomatoes was based on.  I can’t really decide if I liked the book or the movie better, both are great in their own rite.  I devoured both of these 300+ page books in about 2 weeks – Standing in the Rainbow and Welcome to the World, Baby Girl!   Like I said, they’re a little odd, but fun.  Like they say on Reading Rainbow, don’t take my word for it.  🙂

Alright, the laudry is calling me.  SIgh.

One thought on “Thingamajigs

  1. Well, if it makes you feel any better, my house is a total disaster, and I do not have morning sickness to blame. Add to it that my grandparents are flying in from Pennsylvania on Sunday, and I have to say that we are in full panic cleaning mode. Never again, I would love to say, but that’s just not the truth.

    Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

