A Pleasant Word

Proverbs 16:24 “Pleasant words are a honeycomb, Sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.”

Have you ever been in a situation where you didn’t know where you stood with someone?  Maybe it was a disagreement, a misunderstanding, or even circumstances beyond your control – still you’re left in this awful limbo.  Another friend of mine describes it as an awful squeezing feeling in your stomach.  Like lead butterflies.

I hate confrontation.  It’s messy and unpredictable and my peacemaking nature just wants to run and hide at the very thought of it. Still, sometimes it’s necessary.  It was today.  I had to see where I stood with a friend.  I was terrified.  I’ll be honest folks, I struggle terribly with wanting acceptance from others.  While I think this is pretty basic human nature for most, mine can become pretty tiresome.  So I used Jonah as a cute-shield.  How can you be mad at someone with a cute little boy in tow?  Okay so Jonah had to come with, but I thought, “It couldn’t hurt right?”

Turns out I didn’t need Jonah’s cuteness after all.  Turns out my friend has a heart the size of Texas.  Turns out that she knows a lot about this thing called grace. 

In Proverbs 16:24 the original Hebrew word for pleasant is no`am – grace.  The original Hebrew for honeycomb is tsuwph – which indicates a dripping honeycomb, overflowing. 

Overflowing with grace.  Yup that about sums up today.  I went from the doldrums of depression to the sweet relief of grace and reconciliation.  A sweetness to the soul and healing to the bones.  I was quickly reminded of God’s amazing love for me and his unwillingness to let go through what seems to me a long, dark tunnel. 

Psalms 25:10 “All the paths of the LORD are lovingkindness and truth To those who keep His covenant and His testimonies.”

 

One thought on “A Pleasant Word

  1. So many times we think the worst possible case scenario will play out when in actuality, the other party says, “OH, that OK! It’s no biggy.”

Leave a Reply

