It Might be Hope

 

It is so very late, and I should by all means be asleep by now, but I have been writing articles for the past 3 hours, and my brain just isn’t ready to shut down.

My walk with God used to be very much like a roller-coaster.  Can you relate?  One minute I’m up – yay!  God is so good, life is so wonderful and then SPLAT! I’m face down on the pavement having a full-scale pity party.  How tiresome.

Thank goodness for time and maturity which is hardly my doing but rather the result of a lot of tough love from the Father.  I feel like I’m finally getting to this point in my relationship with Him where I am really walking with Him rather than the toddler-like antics I was so prone to – running away (or attempting to), distraction, falling behind, or just falling asleep.  I look back and think that God most certainly is good – ALL the time! 

So the past few days starting on Thursday evening have felt like I was climbing back into that roller coaster seat again.  I tried not to let my circumstances smother my joy, but man it’s been rough.  Without going into detail, our little family is experiencing a bit of a crisis – no worries, we’re all fine.  It’s just that there are some things that need to change, we’ve known this for some time, but sometimes we need a swift kick in the pants to get us there.  We needed to come to the end of ourselves and our rope before we could get a clear view on things.  God always seems much obliged to provide that sort of perspective, isn’t He?

My mom called today.  Disastrous!  I have told her before that she must possess some crazy magical powers because I can just hear her voice and start bawling uncontrollably.  Even at almost 30, I just need my mama sometimes.  So she barely got out, “So how are you?” before I began to wail, and the strange part is that she didn’t at all seem suprised by this even though I had not spoken with her in days.  Through the course of my tear-ridden conversation I realized that God was meeting a need and sowing hope into our situation.  I had been praying scriptures all day about peace and before I knew it, it was crashing over me.

John 14:27 says “Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.”

So I know this is scatterbrained, but today made me think of this really amazing song by Sara Groves called It Might be HopeI love this song because it urges me to turn on that willing suspension of disbelief that I so badly need and to intentionally look for the hope God spreads throughout the day. 

Don’t despair – just keep looking . . .  “Hope has a way of turning it’s face to you just when you least expect it /you walk in a room/you look out a window /and something there leaves you breathless/you say to yourself /it’s been a while since I felt this/but it feels like it might be hope”  – Sara Groves, Tell Me What You Know

2 thoughts on “It Might be Hope

  1. Thank you for this post, Crystal! I needed to hear it as well. I feel like I’ve been on that roller coaster myself lately.I like to think that God is the perfect gentleman. He never pushes or screams or demands our attention. He just patiently waits and softly speaks. You’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

