The Great Opthamologist

As of late, my Bible study keeps taking me the book of Isaiah.  I have to be honest, it’s not a book I’m terribly familiar with, although I’m not sure why.  I have a confession – in my 14 years as a believer, I haven’t read the Bible the whole way through!  I know, shocking. 

 

I do have a copy of the Daily Walk NIV, which is excellent, and went through a time when I was all gun-ho about reading the Bible in a year.  I just kept getting stuck in this passage or that one, or caught up in a particular book. You see, I discovered early on that unlike any other book, the Bible isn’t something I can just read through. 

One of my favorite scriptures is Hebrews 4:12 “For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.”  Ever since I cracked a Bible open at age 15, I have found its words to be transforming.  It’s been the tool through which God speaks to me most often.  I know a good thing when I find it, and the Word does not disappoint.

So I am delighted to find myself walking through the book of Isaiah ever so slowly (it’s a big one!)  And this morning I came across chapter 43, and I just had to stop and take it in.  It reads like a precious love letter from God to His people, Israel.  Isa 43:1 “But now, thus says the LORD, your Creator, O Jacob, And He who formed you, O Israel, “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name; you are Mine! Isa 43:2 “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched, Nor will the flame burn you. Isa 43:3 “For I am the LORD your God, The Holy One of Israel, your Savior; I have given Egypt as your ransom, Cush and Seba in your place.”

Israel who had by this point, betrayed God many times over, who had worshipped idols, hardened their hearts, and forgot their legacy.  I can relate to that.  Yet, God in His sovereignty, loves His people Israel and is quick to forgive. Isa 43:25 “I, even I, am the one who wipes out your transgressions for My own sake, And I will not remember your sins.”

Here’s just one thing (of many) that I love about the Lord – His incredible ability and will to move forward once forgiveness is granted.  Isa 43:18 “Do not call to mind the former things, Or ponder things of the past. Isa 43:19 “Behold, I will do something new, Now it will spring forth; Will you not be aware of it? I will even make a roadway in the wilderness, Rivers in the desert.

God is so completely unlike us in this way.  I also love the NIV version of verse 18 “Do not dwell on the past.  See, I am doing a new thing!  Do you not perceive it?”   I don’t know about you, but sometimes I have a tendency to live in the past, to dwell in it.  Much to my detriment, I don’t always see the new thing God is doing because I really can’t be in two places at once. 

Over 8 years ago I received a copy of Praying God’s Word  by Beth Moore.  Learning to pray His words, to have the mind of Christ has been an amazing thing for me.  For the past 4 weeks I’ve been leading a small group of women in Living Free:  Learning to Pray God’s Word (also by Moore) and it has been nothing short of transforming. 

Isaiah 43:18 popped up in my quiet time a few months ago, and it keeps showing up in the oddest places, so it’s become a prayer I pray almost everyday now along with Ephesians 1:18-19.  “Little by little, my spiritual eyesight is improving. 

Eph 1:18 {I pray that} the eyes of your heart may be enlightened, so that you will know what is the hope of His calling, what are the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints,
Eph 1:19 and what is the surpassing greatness of His power toward us who believe. {These are} in accordance with the working of the strength of His might

One thought on “The Great Opthamologist

  1. I have been praying God’s Word for my children for years. I don’t remember where I learned about it, but looks like it might be an encouragement to pick up a copy of Beth Moore’s book. Thanks for sharing.

    Blessings to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

