I Will Have my Cake . . . and Eat it Too!

 

So I’m 29 today.  It kind of feels like an un-birthday.  I mean I’m not really in my twenties so much any more and I’m not 30 yet.  Stuck between two worlds.  I had just turned 22 when I got married and Jason was 29.  I had Jonah when I was 25 . . . I feel like should be 30 by now! 

While many women (and men too) loathe the approach of the big 3-0, I am actually looking forward to it.  They say (whoever “they” is) that 30 is the new 20.  I don’t know about that, but since I was a kid, I always though that 30 was a great age.  The prime of life!  Maybe this is because I had a young mom.  Only 18 when she married my dad and 20 when she had me . . . we grew up together a little.  I was sure I had the coolest mom ever, especially when I was 10.   She had just turned 30 and she dressed cool, listened to cool music, and always had fabulous makeup and hair.  She was energetic!  For having three kids, my mom was non-stop.  She was constantly volunteering at our schools, vice president of the PTA, played co-ed volleyball with my dad, did aerobics every day (Sweatin’ to the Oldies baby!), maintained our huge garden, and somehow managed to stay sane withe 3 daughters and a host of pets.  Now that I think about it, maybe my mom had hidden superpowers.

While I will inevitably not be as cool or energetic (or thin for that matter) as my mother was at 30, I still think this next decade of my life holds a lot of promise!  So, here’s to 29 – my last year as a 20-something . . .

3 thoughts on “I Will Have my Cake . . . and Eat it Too!

  1. I’m 22 with a 2 year old and I feel stuck between those same two worlds. Do you think I will still be stuck when I’m 29? Oh yeah… Happy Birthday!

  2. 30 is a good age. I didn’t mind turning thirty and so far it has been pretty good. 29, wasn’t bad, either, though, but you’re right. It is kind of a pointless age. ha.
    YA YA!

Leave a Reply

