Yes’m, old friends is always best, ‘less you can catch a new one that’s fit to make an old one out of. (Sarah Orne Jewett)

I’m over it.  My husband will be glad to hear this, and more glad to see me actually follow through.  I’ve been struggling with a particular relationship that has gone down hill for no apparent reason.  No matter what I do, it doesn’t appear that it will recover, and I cannot figure out for the life of me how I wronged the other party; they sure aren’t going to tell me. 

Yesterday I had one of those “final straw” moments and after blathering about it to Jason and listening to his advice, I agreed that it was time to lay it down and move on.  Still, it hurts to do this.  I am fiercely loyal as a friend, armed with tenacity and a heartful of idealistic notions.  I just wanted things to be rosy, and they are far from it. 

C.S. Lewis: “Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: “What! You, too? Thought I was the only one.”

Does anyone else want to admit that they struggle with a desire to be liked by all?  Don’t be so quick to sneer; some of us do.  This particular friendship had all the markings of a long and prosperous one.  We have known one another for a long time, and when I moved back from Tennessee, you can imagine that I was eager to make friends. 

I love my husband, but a woman always needs her girlfriends. 

I’m thinking now about my little angry post over how disappointed I was with Prince Caspian.  I can’t help but wonder if what was really driving that was this situation.  It’s difficult to see your expectations come crashing down around your ears.  Nothing was like I thought it would be, which is a hard thing and a beautiful thing all at the same time.  Because while this particular friendship has all but fizzled out, I’ve been so incredibly blessed by a host of other incredible new friends through our new church home Realchurch.  I’ve got a good relationship with my in-laws, who I’ve never really known since we’ve always lived far away. My marriage is truly the best it’s ever been.  I am a friend of God.

Yup, it’s about that time to press on and  shake the dust from my feet. 

Romans 5:11 “So now we can rejoice in our wonderful new relationship with God – all because of what our Lord Jesus Christ has done for us in making us friends of God.”

2 thoughts on “Yes’m, old friends is always best, ‘less you can catch a new one that’s fit to make an old one out of. (Sarah Orne Jewett)

  1. I’ve been there. I’ve had to walk away from a friendship that went down hill fast and there was nothing I could do to fix it. I hated losing the relationship but I would not have benefited from trying to keep the person in my life.

  2. Girl, I think we’re sisters or something. I’m the same kind of friend—fiercely loyal and unable to give up on relationships. But I’ve come to realize, sometimes you do nothing wrong and the relationship goes by the wayside. Sometimes you have been quite selfish and deeply hurt and truly forgiving is hard and the relationship may never go back to being like it was. And some relationships are for a season and that’s all. It’s a bitter pill, but it’s the truth. And I think you’re downright awesome, so embrace the awesomeness!

Leave a Reply

