The Music of the Night

I know, I know….two posts in one day.  Don’t I have better things to do?  Well, since my deadline has come and gone, no – not really.

I was SO excited about American Idol tonight as I love musical theater.  When I was in high school in Ryan, Oklahoma, living in the literal middle-of-nowhere with nothing to do I had several tapes of various musicals that I listened to – chiefly, Les Miserables and The Phantom of the Opera.   I even had Les Mis in French!  Nerd. C’est Moi?!  Oui.

When I heard that Andrew Lloyd Webber I was instantly very excited to see what our American Idol hopefuls had up their musical sleeves.  My overall impression:  very mixed!

Syesha:  Well, hello.  Have you been on the show the whole time?  You have?  Funny, I guess I didn’t notice.  No matter, you’re the bomb girl!  Musical theater is totally her thing.  Hey, Clay Aiken is kicking it on Broadway.  As much as I loved this performance, I don’t know that it’s enough to balance out the other string of so-so, forgettable numbers.

Jason Castro:  Before he even started singing, I wailed, “WHY?!”  You fool!  Not THAT song!  Even those most unfamiliar with musical theater know Cats  and they know that  song.  Train-wreck?  Why yes, Randy it was.  Only, not the kind you want to watch, the kind you want to hide your eyes from because you’re embarrassed.  Castro may be saying “see ya” this week.

Brooke:  I knew this would be a toughie.  Musical theater is generally for big voices.  She had the honesty and the message of the song down, but vocally it was not so hot.  I felt so bad for the stop-start thing too.  I might have just made something up.

Archuleta:  Y’know Dawg, it didn’t work for me.  Well, Randy loved it.  I, did not.  Vocally, it was stellar and that’s where it ended.  Not very exciting.  Not very emotional.  Just – eh, oh yeah, he has a good voice.  He makes me think of Josh Groban. Again, amazing voice, but does nothing for me.

Carly:  Finally something she seems to enjoy!  I liked her sparkly dress.  I am so glad she didn’t go with a Phantom song too.  What would that be like 4 of them or something if she had?  C’mon people, there are a lot of great Andrew Lloyd Webber songs.  Any who, I liked it.  Didn’t blow my hair back, but it was good.

David Cook:  In short, he is the man.  I loved it.  I love that song, and felt he hit the nail on the head.  He made it sultry and sexy and all that.  The vocal was beautiful.  Bravo!  Bravo!

So there you have it.  Hope you watched, if not go to http://www.american-idol.tk/ to see all the performances. 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Music of the Night

  1. I love that you’re blogging on American Idol, too! Last night was very mixed I thought. It was either bad, eh OK, or AMAZING! I thought David Cook was good last night, then I rewatched the video this morning and now think he was AMAZING! 🙂

  2. Mindy. You’re making people uncomfortable again. We’ve talking about this. Why are we talking about David’s “nooks and crannies” anyway. Wait, now I’ve made myself uncomfortable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

