The Truth Shall Set You Free

I am proud of myself!  I started to read the entire Chronicles of Narnia (C.S. Lewis if you don’t know – but you should!) back in December.  I had read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe but none of the other stories.  I had no idea what I had been missing!  On a side note, let me tell you that I am seriously excited about Prince Caspian coming out this May.  It’s a fantastic story, and I hope they make some of the others too! 

Okay, I did have a point here . . . I am about finished up with the Chronicles as I am in the middle of The Last Battle.  This one might just be his most amazing yet.  It is laced with ideas/theological debates/questions that believers of Christ and un-believers alike have been grappling with for years and will continue to grapple with.  I find Lewis’ genius, his ability to subtly engage his readers just mind-blowing.  He, like one of my other faves Tolkein, is a master story-teller. 

Here’s the particular part that caught my attention last night – “Jill looked at the King; his mouth was open and his face full of horror.  And then she understood the devilish cunning of the enemies’ plan.  By mixing a little truth with it they had made their lie far stronger.”

I was suddenly taken back to the first Sunday school class that Jason and I joined when first coming to Nashville in 2003 at Judson Baptist Church.  It was a wonderful young-married class taught by a couple named Steve & Doris Little.  These two were some of the most amazing Bible teachers I have come across.  Wow.  I distinctly remember Steve saying many poignant things, but one in particular was that “Believing a lie starts with going only one degree from the truth; it still looks like the truth, and some of it is, but anything even a degree from the truth – isn’t”  Sounds simple enough, but in our culture of missing absolutes and gray areas, it has always remained with me. 

Another important point Steve made several times throuughout our time in his class was that “Feelings do not equal truth, but the truth can equal your thoughts and feelings.”

John 14:6  “Jesus said “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.”

1 Cor 13:6 “Love does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth;”

2 Cor 4:2 “but we have renounced the things hidden because of shame, not walking in craftiness or adulterating the word of God, but by the manifestation of truth commending ourselves to every man’s conscience in the sight of God.”

Eph 4:15 “but speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in all aspects into Him who is the head, even Christ,”

Eph 4:25 ” Therefore, laying aside falsehood, SPEAK TRUTH EACH ONE of you WITH HIS NEIGHBOR, for we are members of one another.”

 

2 thoughts on “The Truth Shall Set You Free

  1. It’s been a long time since I’ve read the Narnia books and I don’t think I ever made it past the third one. I’d like to pick them up again. C.S. Lewis is great! I remember reading Mere Christianity when I first got back into going to church and finding it really helpful.

Leave a Reply

