Count Your Blessings

So I was reading Mandy’sblog and decided to steal her idea that she stole from someone else . . . it’s a vicious cycle of idea snatching, people!  Anyway, I am one who is all for counting your blessings (remember that old hymn “Count your blessings, name them one by one, Count your blessings, see what God has done . . .”)  So here are some things that I love about this life, about the Lord, and about the wonderful people I’ve been blessed to know.

I love to see the trees budding in the Spring because what looked dead is now beautiful with new life!  I love Jonah’s laugh and his jokes “I was kidding Mama!”  I love when Jason gives me a kiss for no reason at all.  I love hugging my mom and how she always smells like vanilla. I love my dad’s hugs too…I love his rough hands which have gotten that way from a life of faithfully providing for his family.  I love the waking up to the smell of coffee….or bacon, both make me want to hop out of bed!  I love taking naps on quiet Sunday afternoons.  I love finding an old photo of myself where I just look like a dork and having a good laugh. 

I love getting the end of a great book and wishing the story would go on forever.  I love seeing long-distance friends who seem to pick up right where you left off.   I love cooking dinner for my family.  I love watching “The Office” with Jason and laughing so hard we cry.  I love painting (and I don’t mean walls!)  I love hearing a song that just perfectly fits where I’m at in life.  I love kissing Jonah’s sweet face.  I love holding hands with my man. 

I also love Chuck Taylors.   I love jeans that fit well.  And I love my wedding dress – it was perfect.  I love hand-written notes and unexpected gifts.  I love praying with my girlfriends.  I love sitting in the aisle of a bookstore and feeling like I could just soak it all in.  I love it when I flip right where I meant to in my Bible without having to use the index. 

Most of all, I love the Lord and His compassion for me.  He continues to pour out his lovingkindness in ways I could never have fathomed.  Titus 3:3-7 “3 For we also once were foolish ourselves, disobedient, deceived, enslaved to various lusts and pleasures, spending our life in malice and envy, hateful, hating one another.
4 But when the kindness of God our Savior and His love for mankind appeared,
5 He saved us, not on the basis of deeds which we have done in righteousness, but according to His mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewing by the Holy Spirit,
6 whom He poured out upon us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior,
7 so that being justified by His grace we would be made heirs according[1][Or of eternal life according to hope ] to the hope of eternal life . . .”

Leave a Reply

