That’s Hot.

While slowly driving up and down the aisles of the Wal-Mart parking lot while waiting for Jason to deposit our check in the Bank (which is inside the said Wal-Mart) I observed the following:

1) A teenage couple making out on the tail of a car.  Really?  Here?  Sure it looks all Jackie and Diane I guess, but not at Wal-Mart.  At Wal-Mart is looks all Britney and K-Fed.

2) A very short man strapping a very large case of Heineken to his very small Vespa.  The song “Smooth Operator” popped into my head; I giggled. 

3) The D.A.R.E. booth set up right outside the doors.  I actually won an art contest for D.A.R.E in the fifth grade.  I got a month of art classes in downtown Austin.  I remember our D.A.R.E. officer’s name was Roach. We thought it was funny because she was named after a bug, but as adult a drug office with that last name is funny for other reasons.

4) Big butts.  A lot of them.  Okay I have a large-er derriere, but these were BIG butts.  What is it about Wal-Mart that draws the big-butt population?

5) Seagulls in the parking lot.  I saw this in the parking lot of the old Wal-Mart on Old Hickory Boulevard too (south Nashville – it’s closed now).  How are there seagulls so far from, well, the sea?!  I know seagulls are scavengers, and I guess they heard how trashy the Wal-Mart was, so they came all this way to partake of the goods.  Ambitious!

3 thoughts on “That’s Hot.

  1. Ha! Mindy and I sometimes just go places to people watch. And the Scary Wal-Mart you mentioned (which happens to be just down the road from my house!) is now a HUGE Lowe’s. It sort of blows my mind. I once saw a guy propose to a girl at that Wal-Mart. Over the intercom. It was CLASSY!

  2. Hello! I know this is an old post but I am just now reading it.

    I so agree about the random situations of a Wal-Mart parking lot. I have to laugh at the state people allow themselves to be seen in public.

Leave a Reply

