Single Mama Must-Haves

My kids are with their dad this week (ya know, just in case you missed my numerous tweets and FB statues telling of my excitement!) I love those little blessings, but those blessings Wear. Me. Out. I have dubbed this week my “Mom Staycation.” I am going to work like usual, but this week I will get to wake up later than usual . . . no wait, not really – thanks a lot Daylight Savings Time!  Ugh!

But as I cleaned and de-cluttered today, I got to thinking about things that single moms out there really must have. It’s things we take for granted with a hubby around.  You know, like tools and stuff?  So, here’s a little list you might want to consider or recommend to those single moms in your life. :)

1) Don’t be a tool. Have some tools. You don;t need a chain saw and a jigsaw (unless that’s your thing, then  by all means . . .) but seriously – a drill, a hammer, some nails, a screwdriver – these will come in handy.  Really, this should be a must-have for anybody, but us single girls tend to forget that at some point, we will need to unscrew something. In my case, those little doors that hold the batteries in toys.

2) A step-stool. If you’re short like me and the other people in your house are short too – a step-stool or ladder are most helpful!  I changed the battery in my smoke alarm and several light-bulbs, oh yeah, all by myself. It also comes in handy for helping older kids become more self-sufficient. Jonah can make his own breakfast now. It is so cool.

3) Girlfriends. I like my hermit time, but it’s just so good to hang with a friend. Girlfriends are so cool because they don’t get flustered when you nearly run out of gas on the highway – they laugh. They ignore your dirty house. They will go buy tutu-making-supplies with you. And they pray for you like crazy, and cry with you sometimes, and hold your babies when your two hands can’t hold them all. Yeah, girlfriends are awesome.

4) A good vacuum cleaner. I do not have one of these, and it’s killing me slowly. Actually, it’s the carpet that’s killing me slowly. What I would give for anything other than carpet.  A good vacuum can’t stop children from dropping everything on God’s green earth on my carpet. Moan.

5) If you have to work outside the house – a great child-care provider. I can’t begin to tell you how it blesses my soul to bring my girls to the daycare and see them smile as they see their teachers.

6) Patience, Perseverance and Grace. Just like a good friend, you can’t buy these things either. They take time to develop. Lots of trial and error. If you’re a single parent, you are doing the job of two people. It’s hard, but it does get better. The more I learn and give myself a break and ask for help when I need it, the better I get at this single mom thing.

7) and most important, God. If it were not for the Lord in my life, I don’t think I could do this. I think I would have thrown in the towel a long time ago. I said before that it was “hard”  . . . some days, “hard” doesn’t begin to describe it. Terrifying maybe. Or Exhausting. God is so good and so quick to send help when I cry out for it. He softens the blows of disappointments and brings joy through the pain. He is teaching me to really forgive and receive forgiveness.

Romans 5: 3-6  “We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they are good for us—they help us learn to endure. And endurance develops strength of character in us, and character strengthens our confident expectation of salvation. And this expectation will not disappoint us. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love. When we were utterly helpless, Christ came at just the right time and died for us sinners.

One thought on “Single Mama Must-Haves

  1. LOL! All of these things are SOOOOO true! #4 drove me to the point where now I live in a house with only hard surfaces for flooring and I only have one kiddo! Seriously, don’t know how many times Big Daddy had to teach me it was okay to ask for help…I think that was one of my biggest lessons during the season of single motherhood for me. Now I ask more people than I should probably, but have an overwhelming appreciation for COMMUNITY like I never did before. Keep writing…you bless people when you do – like me :)

Leave a Reply

